Climbing

I caught a glimpse of my reflection yesterday. Usually, when this happens, I sneer and pretend it didn’t happen, disgusted with what I look like. But yesterday, that brief glimpse made me smile. I actually admitted to myself that I looked beautiful. That doesn’t make me a bad person. That doesn’t make me vain.

And I feel good about it.

I’m not disgusted with myself anymore. I’m becoming what I want to be– and eventually, I want to be proud to be me. I want to love being me. I want to love everything about myself. If it starts with a glance at a reflection in the windshield of a car, I can stand it. I feel confident that I can make this climb. I will change myself– and no longer hate myself.

I’m making progress. I’m climbing.

4 thoughts on “Climbing

  1. That is so beautiful 🙂
    When I was really depressed and had a long hospital stay in 2010, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror one night and, like you, saw myself as beautiful. It was something of a turning point. I could see myself as worth hanging onto once again.
    Keep on climbing 🙂

  2. gary cunningham says:

    You are truely a beautiful person. I caught that the first time I saw you. What a wonderful smile. Always a great pleasure to see you.

What do you think?

