I Don’t Understand!

I think I have food poisoning, or something. This is coming from someone who can dare to eat nearly-raw steak (om nom yum). I woke up too early feeling like I had heartburn– only it was down in my stomach, trying to claw its way up my esophagus with cleats and a pick-axe, mountain-climber style. So in addition to feeling like that, I went to work, and every time I would get into my work, moving quickly, doing things, one of two things would happen. One: I would suddenly see all white for a moment and become light-headed or dizzy, or feel pain in my head or ringing of the ears. Like someone biffed me in the head with a 2-by-4. Two: my stomach would abruptly tell me that I should go sit down, or it would assert authority by rejecting what little was left in my stomach.

So when I was waiting in the bathroom last night, unsure if I would get sick again, I was reading one of my 3 or 4 books on learning Japanese and missed how fun it was to learn the language. I missed the feeling of being a part of something that made me think of a future that right now seems unattainable. On top of that, I realized that I was thirsty for that culture (and water. I needed water, but was afraid to get up). So I read until I felt strong enough to go back to sleep. When I woke up again a few hours later, I sat on the edge of my bed, feet pointed toward the bathroom door, book open on my lap.

So what does this have to do with the price of tea in China (cliche’d phrase, I know)? While I was reading, I suddenly thought “I have 15 days until the next issue of Skip Beat is released in Japanese. It will take a while for anyone to translate it, won’t it?” and then I looked at the stack of books, and my laptop, and thought “I could totally translate the next issue! It would be a great way to learn and feed my obsession. Kill two birds with one stone (cliche’d phrase #2. Somebody stop me), and it could help fellow fans of the manga who don’t have the resources I do!” So I decided right then that when I woke up the 20th of this month, I would find that chapter, and I would make a mad dash at translating. It will likely be the hardest thing I’ve ever done– but it will be extremely rewarding. Especially reading back over it, reading it as it was meant to be read, free of grammatical errors (the one drawback of Internet scanlations: horrendous grammar is more common than big eyes in a manga).

Anyway, having survived work without throwing up, I’m proud of myself, and so I will proceed to lie around in bed until I manage to pass out. I still feel that burn in my stomach, and I worry that it will wake me up. I just hope it isn’t salmonella, or something that will last a while, like the flu. Around here, there has been a stomach virus going around. I don’t know how it could possibly be passed on, especially since I haven’t come into contact with someone with it in any way that would pass it on to me. At least, not that I know of.

What do you think?

